Please note that the McLellan Poetry Competition will not be held in 2020. We anticipate that the competition will return in 2021. Further information will be posted here in due course.

The McLellan Poetry Prize is awarded by the Arran Theatre and Arts Trust as part of the annual McLellan Arts Festival.


Now in its thirteenth year, past judges have included Kathleen Jamie, Robert Crawford, Jackie Kay, Peter and Ann Sansom, Michael Laskey, Simon Armitage, David Constantine, Maura Dooley and Sinéad Morrissey. The judge for this year was Sean O'Brien.

The competition for 2019 has now finished. Thank you to everyone who has submitted entries.

The results were announced on the Isle of Arran by Sean O'Brien during the McLellan Arts Festival, at an event held on Friday 30th August.

Judge Sean O'Brien with the many of the Winners and the Competition Organisers at the Prize Giving on Arran.

 (from the right: Cicely Gill, Organiser; Sean O'Brien, Competition Judge; Jane Kinton, 3rd Prize; Kitty Donnelly, Commended; Pamela Brough, 1st Prize; James Caruth, Commended & David Underdown, Organiser.)

You can keep up to date with the competition by liking and following our dedicated Facebook Page

Previous Years
2018 winner Char March recorded her entry in Scots and English
Maura Dooley presents 1st Prize to  2017 winner Louise Greig
Jed Myers receiving 1st Prize from
David Constantine in 2016
John Foggin receiving 1st Prize from
Simon Armitage in 2015
About Us
Arran Theatre and Arts Trust is a charity, registered in Scotland, and a company limited by guarantee.
Company number: SC119255
Charity number: SC006027
Social Media
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
Stay updated